Discover with Timothy Tye
Warriors' Mausoleum

Start here
Warriors' MausoleumWarriors' Mausoleum (8 February, 2006)

B. Melayu

The Warriors' Mausoleum, also called Makam Pahlawan and sometimes Heroes' Mausoleum, is the burial ground of Malaysian statemen of Muslim faith. It is located within the grounds of the national mosque, Masjid Negara, in Kuala Lumpur. It was first constructed in 1963 alongside the construction of the national mosque, and was completed in 1965. In 1973, Tun Dr Ismail became the first Malaysian leader laid to rest there. The Warriors' Mausoleum is located at the end of a long passageway adjacent to the National Mosque.

The following is a list of Malaysian leaders buried under and outside the dome of the mausoleum.

Under the dome
Tun Dr Ismail - Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia (died 1973)
Tun Abdul Razak - Prime Minister of Malaysia (died 1976)
Tun Hussein Onn - Prime Minister of Malaysia (died 1990)
Tun Ghafar Baba - Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia (died 2006)

Outside the dome
Tan Sri Syed Jaabar Albar - UMNO Secretary-General and Minister of Rural Development (died 1977)
Tan Sri Syed Nasir - Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat (died 1982)
Tun Sardon Jubir - Minister of Works and Communications and Penang Yang di-Pertua Negeri (died 1985)
Tan Sri Mohammad Noah - Minister of Home Affairs and Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat (died 1991)
Tan Sri Abdul Kadir Yusuf - Minister of Law and the Judicary, Attorney-General, Solicitor-General and Lord President of the Supreme Court (died 1992)

Warriors' MausoleumWarriors' Mausoleum (8 February 2006)

Warriors' MausoleumWarriors' Mausoleum (8 February 2006)

Warriors' Mausoleum, Kuala LumpurWarriors' Mausoleum as seen from the outside (11 July, 2016)

List of Mausoleums in Kuala Lumpur and Mausoleums in Malaysia

 My Latest Updates

 My Latest Updates

Copyright © 2003-2019 Timothy Tye. All Rights Reserved.